Captains, Award Winners Announced at Cross Country Banquet

Michael Hoffman (left) and Kirsten Jorgensen (right) have been named captains for the 2011 season (Harvard Athletic Communications).

The Harvard cross country team held its annual end-of-season banquet Thursday night in the Harvard Hall of History. Captains for the 2011 cross country season, as well as team award winners, were announced at the event, which also served as a meeting for a number of members of the team’s friends group in attendance.    

Juniors Michael Hoffmann and Kirsten Jorgensen were selected to lead the men’s and women’s teams, respectively, in 2011 after both had successful seasons in 2010. Hoffmann was one of Harvard’s most consistent runners, finishing third among Harvard runners at Heps and second within team ranks at the NCAA Regional Meet. At the NCAA Regional, Hoffmann recorded his career-best time in a 10K event, posting a time of 31.28.5 on the course at Hammonasett Beach State Park in Madison, Conn. Jorgensen was an emotional leader for Harvard this season and posted a time of 20:01.65 at the annual Harvard/Yale meet.

Jorgensen and Hoffmann also took home two of the four team awards presented at the banquet. Jorgensen received the Jerry Kanter Improvement Award, while Hoffmann was honored with The Jaako Mikkola Award, given to the team member who, through continued and conscientious effort for team success, has shown noteworthy improvement in physical performance. The Kate Wiley Women’s Cross Country Award, given to the female who is considered the most valuable performer, exhibited by her contributions to the success of the team, was presented to junior Jeanne Mack, who turned in a sixth-place finish at Heps in a personal-best time of 17:29.6 to earn All-Ivy League accolades.

Senior Daniel Chenoweth rounded out the recipients with the J.D. “Don” French ’56 Memorial Cross Country Award, given to the team member who best combines the qualities of team inspiration, enthusiasm, improvement and ardent belief in the values of the sport and athletics at Harvard. Chenoweth was the lone Harvard runner to qualify for the NCAA Championships and also earned All-Ivy and All-Region accolades for the third year in a row.

The team also acknowledged it’s seniors for their years of dedication: Chenoweth, Brian Hill, Thomas Hutchison, Meghan Houser, Eliza Ives, Thea Lee, Hilary May, Jamie Olson, Claire Richardson and Cara Sprague. The aforementioned group represents the first recruiting class brought in by current head coach Jason Saretsky.