Liang Selected to Women’s Tennis All-Ivy Second Team

Liang earned the first conference honor of her career (photo courtesy Athletic Communications).

CAMBRIDGE, Mass.Spencer Liang of the Harvard women’s tennis team has been named to the All-Ivy League tennis team as the freshman was selected to the second team, the league announced Wednesday afternoon.

In her first season in Cambridge, Liang picked up her first second-team accolade thanks to a 17-14 singles record exclusively as the Crimson’s ace. The rookie from Potomac, Md., finished the dual slate with a 7-9 mark and went 1-6 against Ancient Eight opponents.

Liang, who ranked as high as No. 107 on the ITA national singles list, helped Harvard down three ranked opponents this year including then-No. 11 Clemson, 4-3, Feb. 21, representing the first time the Crimson upset a top-15 opponent under the guidance of head coach Traci Green. Harvard concluded the season 11-8 overall and 3-4 in conference play to finish fifth in the Ivy League.

2013-14 Ivy League Women’s Tennis Awards
Player of the Year
*Lindsay Graff, Princeton (Jr. - Fort Lauderdale, Fla.)

Rookie of the Year
Dayna Lord, Brown (Fr. – Bloomfield, Conn.)

First Team All-Ivy
*Dayna Lord, Brown (Fr. – Bloomfield, Conn.)
*Kanika Vaidya, Columbia (So. – Singapore)
Katherine Yau, Dartmouth (So. – Manhasset, N.Y.)
*Lindsay Graff, Princeton (Jr. – Fort Lauderdale, Fla.)
*Hanna Yu, Yale (Jr. – Northbrook, Ill.)

*Bianca Sanon (Sr. – Plantation, Fla.) and Kanika Vaidya (So. – Singapore), Columbia
*Agustina Sol Eskenazi (Jr. – Buenos Aires, Argentina) and Kana Daniel (Fr. – Valencia, Spain), Penn
Lindsay Graff (Jr. – Fort Lauderdale, Fla.) and Alanna Wolff (Fr. – Perty Amoby, N.J.), Princeton

Second Team All-Ivy^
Hannah Cambhi, Brown (So. – Woodbury, N.Y.)
Tina Jiang, Columbia (Fr. – Bridgewater, N.J.)
Bianca Sanon, Columbia (Sr. – Plantation, Fla.)
Taylor Ng, Dartmouth (Fr. – Haddonfield, N.J.)
Spencer Liang, Harvard (Fr. – Potomac, Md.)
Alanna Wolff, Princeton (Fr. – Perth Ambody, N.J.)
Annie Sullivan, Yale (Sr. – Deerfield, Ill.)

Dayna Lord (Fr. – Bloomfield, Conn.) and Hannah Camhi (So. – Woodbury, N.Y.), Brown
Crystal Leung (Jr. – Houston) and Tina Jiang (Fr. – Bridgewater, N.J.), Columbia
Madeleine Hamilton (So. – Greensboro, N.C.) and Sherry Li (Fr. – Parkland, Fla.), Yale

*Unanimous Selection
^Due to ties in voting, there are seven singles players on the second team