Tachibana, Norton Selected to Women’s Tennis All-Ivy Team

Tachibana, Norton Selected to Women’s Tennis All-Ivy Team

Hideko Tachibana (left) and Kristin Norton (right) were named to the 2011-12 All-Ivy League women's tennis team (photos Gil Talbot).

 Hideko Tachibana and Kristin Norton of the Harvard women's tennis team have been named to the All-Ivy League tennis team, the league announced Thursday. Tachibana earned first-team honors in singles, while Norton was a second-team singles selection. The pair of Crimson captains combined to earn All-Ivy League second-team honors in doubles.

Tachibana earned her second first-team accolade (2010) after going 10-9 overall, 9-7 during the spring and 4-3 in the Ivy League this season. The junior was 2-3 against fellow All-Ivy League first-team picks, including wins over Yale's ace Elizabeth Epstein and Brown's No. 1, Misia Krasowski. She was one of four unanimous selections along with Epstein, Columbia's Nocle Bartnik, the Player of the Year, and Penn's Sol Eskenazi, the Rookie of the Year.

Norton, who played in the No. 2 position throughout most of the spring, earned her second All-Ivy League selection and first since 2010, when she was named to the second team for singles. This season, the Port Washington, N.Y., native was 14-8 overall, 9-7 during the spring and 4-3 in Ivy League contests to help the Crimson to a third-place finish in the Ancient Eight.

Harvard's two best singles players also teamed together to provide the Crimson with its No. 1 doubles tandem throughout most of the season. Tachibana and Norton played together for 22 matches in 2011-12 and finished with a 15-7 record, including an 8-5 mark in the dual portion of the season and a 3-1 record in Ivy League matches. The duos most notable victory came against No. 12 Lauren Embree and Joanna Mather of Florida, 8-4, in the first round of the main draw at the prestigious ITA All-American Oct. 6. Embree and Mather contributed to the Gators' NCAA championship in 2011.

Tachibana and Norton will lead a strong returning group to Cambridge for the 2012-13 campaign. Harvard will return 86% of its dual match wins next season, as Samantha Gridley is the only senior on the squad. The Crimson will return its No. 1 and No. 2 players in Tachibana and Norton, as well as Camille Jania and Natalie Blosser, who played a majority of the time at No. 3 and No. 4, respectively.

2011-12 Ivy League Women's Tennis Awards
Player of the Year
*Nicole Bartnik, Columbia (Jr., Brandenton, Fla.)

Rookie of the Year
Agustina Sol Eskenazi, Penn (Fr., Buenos Aires, Argentina)

First Team All-Ivy
Misia Krasowki, Brown (Jr., Deerfield, Ill.)
*Nicole Bartnik, Columbia (Jr., Brandenton, Fla.)
Sarah Leonard, Dartmouth (Jr., Norwalk, Conn.)
*Hideko Tachibana, Harvard (Jr., Canyon Country, Texas)
*Agustina Sol Eskenazi, Penn (Fr., Buenos Aires, Argentina)
*Elizabeth Epstein, Yale (Jr., Chicago, Ill.) 

*Sarah O'Neil (Jr., Lynnfield, Mass.) and Lauren Frazier (Fr., Greenville, N.C.), Cornell
Agustina Sol Eskenazi (Fr., Buenos Aires, Argentina) and Julianna Rodin (Jr., Philadelphia), Penn
Hilary Bartlett (Sr., New York) and Lindsay Graff (Fr., Fort Lauderdale, Fla.), Princeton
Amber Li (Fr., Tampa, Fla.) and Vicky Brook (Sr., London, England), Yale 

Second Team All-Ivy
Bianca Sanon, Columbia (So., Plantation, Fla.)
Sarah O'Neil, Cornell (Jr., Lynnfield, Mass.)
Kristin Norton, Harvard (Jr., Port Washington, N.Y.)
Stephanie Do, Penn (So., Dallas, Texas)
Lindsay Graff, Princeton (Fr., Fort Lauderdale, Fla.)
Blair Seideman, Yale (So., Brookville, N.Y.)

Bianca Sanon (So., Plantation, Fla.) and Tiana Takenaga (Westminster, Calif.), Columbia
Kristin Norton (Jr., Port Washington, N.Y.) and Hideko Tachibana (Jr., Canyon Country, Texas), Harvard
Elizabeth Epstein (Jr., Chicago, Ill.) and Annie Sullivan (So., Deerfield, Ill.), Yale

* - Unanimous Selection