loki/tinymce : /sports/wsquash/2013-14/releases/20140302j8y1gs : 20140302j8y1gs : n8i652o8yex9g4w8



National Champion! Sobhy Wins Third Straight Ramsay Cup

Sobhy (left) joins an elite group after winning third consecutive national title (photo courtesy: Michael T. Bello).

PHILADELPHIA, Pa.Amanda Sobhy made history after winning her third straight individual national championship with a shutout victory over Trinity's Kanzy El Defrawy in the Ramsay Cup finals. Sobhy's win marks the 14th women's individual national title in program history.

Sobhy becomes the only Crimson student-athlete in program history to win the Ramsay Cup three consecutive times, while joining Alicia McConnell of Penn (1982-84) and Julia Beaver of Princeton (1999-01) as just the third player in CSA history to take the title three straight years. 

Sobhy and El Defrawy are no strangers as the two have meet twice this season after battling each other in the Ramsay Cup finals one season ago. Last year, Sobhy posted a decisive 3-0 win, and Sunday was no different.

The Sea Cliff, N.Y., native trailed 2-1 before powering back to take the first game, 11-6.  In next game, El Defrawy jumped out to an early lead before Sobhy worked her way back to win 11-5, putting herself on the verge of clinching a third straight individual crown. In the final game, the junior was nearly flawless, surrendering just three points to take the game, 11-3, and win the Ramsay Cup. 

On her way to the finals, Sobhy knocked off Princeton's Alexandra Sawin in the opening round, 11-1, 11-3, 11-3, before topping Anna Porras of George Washington, 11-3, 11-4, 11-3, to advance out of pool play. 

In the quarterfinals, Sobhy blanked teammate Haley Mendez, 11-3, 11-4, 11-1, before making quick work of Penn's Anaka Alankamony, 11-5, 11-2, 11-2.

Sobhy, who finishes the year with an undefeated 17-0 mark, and her dominant run at the Ramsay Cup closes a banner year for the Harvard women's squash team, which won its 19th Ivy League title and finished second at the Howe Cup behind Trinity. The Crimson also had the individual national champion for the third time in as many years and the fourth time in the last five years.