No. 1 Women’s Squash Wins Ivy League, Finishes Regular Season Undefeated

No. 1 Women’s Squash Wins Ivy League,  Finishes Regular Season Undefeated

Photo of Harvard celebrating its 17th Ivy League title courtesy of Chris Smith.

Video of Harvard Winning Ivy League Title

Photo Gallery
Complete List of Ivy League Champions
Complete List of Barhite Award Winners

NEW HAVEN, Conn. –
With its 7-2 victory at archrival Yale Saturday afternoon, the top-ranked Harvard women’s squash team won the Ivy League crown and finished the regular season with a perfect 9-0 record. The Crimson, which posted an unblemished 6-0 mark in Ivy matches, has now claimed 17 Ancient Eight titles in program history and its first since 2006.

With its unbeaten record in the regular season, Harvard also earned the Barhite Award, presented annually to the team with the best dual match record in the nation. The Crimson has now been the recipient of the award 11 times, with the most recent coming in 1999.

The teams used a three-court system with Harvard grabbing a 2-1 lead through the first three matches. At the No. 6 position, Cece Cortes downed Kate Ballaine, 3-0, while Sarah Mumanachit followed with a 3-0 victory against Ali Kerr at the No. 9 spot. The Crimson grabbed two more wins in the next round, as Natasha Kingshott defeated Lexi Van Arkel in three straight games at the No. 5 spot, followed by a win by Bethan Williams against Katie Harrison at the No. 8 position, 3-0.

With Harvard leading 4-1, co-captain Katherine O’Donnell clinched the match and the Ivy League title by defeating Caroline Reigeluth of No. 5 Yale (9-4, 3-3 Ivy League) at the No. 6 slot. O’Donnell shut out Reigeluth, 3-0, and was one of seven Harvard players to win three straight games against opponents Saturday. At the No. 1 spot, Laura Gemmell topped Logan Greer, 3-0, and she finished the regular season without dropping a game. Co-captain Johanna Snyder put an exclamation point on the day with a 3-0 showing against Rhetta Nadas at the No. 4 position.

Harvard will enjoy two weeks off before preparing for the CSA National Team Championships, which will be held at Yale Feb. 26-28. The Crimson finished second at least year’s tournament, falling to Princeton in the national final, 5-4, at the Barnaby Courts. Harvard has won 11 CSA team titles, the last coming in 2001.

Complete Results
No. 1 Harvard 7, No. 5 Yale 2

No. 1 Laura Gemmell (H) def. Logan Greer (Y), 3-0
No. 2 Alia Aziz (Y) def. Nirasha Guruge (H), 3-1
No. 3 Sarah Toomey (Y) def. Alisha Mashruwala (H), 3-1
No. 4 Johanna Snyder (H) def. Rhetta Nadas (Y), 3-0
No. 5 Natasha Kingshott (H) def. Lexi Van Arkel (Y), 3-0
No. 6 Cece Cortes (H) def. Kate Ballaine (Y), 3-0
No. 7 Katherine O’Donnell (H) def. Caroline Reigeluth (Y), 3-0
No. 8 Bethan Williams (H) def. Katie Harrison (Y), 3-0
No. 9 Sarah Mumanachit (H) def. Ali Kerr (Y), 3-0



Video has no source Url in classid="clsid:d27cdb6e-ae6d-11cf-96b8-444553540000" width="367" height="317" codebase=",0,40,0">