Croy, Fox Named Captains at Wrestling Awards Banquet

Croy and Fox will serve as captains in 2013-14 (Robert Preston).

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – The Harvard wrestling team recently held its annual postseason awards banquet where rising senior Cameron Croy and rising junior James Fox were named captains for 2013-14.

"Both Cameron and James have shown their leadership potential at different times of their careers and we are expecting big things from them over the next year," stated Jay Weiss, The David G. Bunning '88 Head Coach for Harvard Wrestling. "They will have a lot to do with the success of the program in the 2013-2014 campaign, as well as in future years."

Croy will enter his senior season as the winningest individual on the Crimson's roster with a 54-48 mark. He was an honorable mention All-Ivy League selection this past year after going 20-16 at both 174 lbs. and 184 lbs., and placed eighth at the EIWA Championships as a 174-pounder. Croy was also an honorable mention All-Ivy pick as a freshman and placed sixth at the 2012 EIWA Championships as a sophomore.

Fox ranks No. 2 among active Crimson grapplers with a career record of 34-20. He was named to the All-Ivy League second team this season despite missing the entire first semester with an injury, and finished the campaign with a 13-8 mark. Fox qualified for the NCAA Championships with a runner-up performance at this year's EIWA Championships, and was one of four true freshmen to earn an at-large bid to the 2012 NCAA Championships after placing seventh at EIWA's.

Freshman Nicholas Stager received the Henry Russell Ames Award, which recognizes the wrestler who improves the most over the course of the year. Stager competed twice at the Binghamton Open and Keystone Classic, and made tremendous strides throughout the year in the wrestling room.

Fellow freshman Jeffrey Ott was presented with the Most Promising Freshmen Award after earning honorable mention All-Ivy League accolades in his first season in Cambridge. The Chelmford, Mass., native went 21-15 on the year with a team-high five falls, and placed fifth at the EIWA Championships to narrowly miss a trip to the national tournament.

The Beck Family Unsung Hero Award, which recognizes the wrestler who deserves recognition for their contributions to the success of the program, went to Shay Warren. The senior from Ogden, Utah, went 6-8 in his final year and capped his career off with an eighth-place finish at the EIWA Championships. His commitment to the team extended beyond the competition mat, however, as he also served as the organizer for the team's community service initiatives.

Steven Keith went home with a pair of honors as he was presented the Richard Glover Ames Award as the team's most outstanding wrestler and the Hardest Worker Award. Keith led the Crimson with a 30-10 record and placed fourth at EIWA's to earn his fourth straight trip to the NCAA Championships. He also turned in a team-best seven major decisions and three falls, and will graduate ranked seventh in program history with 107 career victories.

Walter Peppelman, a three-time captain for the Crimson, received the Richard Sullivan Award which is given annually to the wrestler who has given the most back to Harvard wrestling during his time in Cambridge. Peppelman's 111 career wins are fifth most in program history while his 31 career falls rank third all-time. The Harrisburg, Pa., native twice earned All-America status at the NCAA Championships, is a three-time All-Ivy League honoree and placed three times at the EIWA Championships, including a pair of runner-up finishes as a junior and senior.