Katey Stone Named NCAA Silver Anniversary Award Winner

Stone joins the likes of Troy Aikman, Rodney Peete, Earl Martin Phalen, George Pyne and Dara Torres as the 2014 Silver Anniversary Award winners. (Photo courtesy of the NCAA)

NCAA Release (

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – Katey Stone, the Landry Family Head Coach for Harvard Women's Ice Hockey, has been selected by the NCAA Honors Committee to be one of six NCAA Silver Anniversary Award winners, the organization announced.

The Silver Anniversary Award annually recognizes accomplished individuals on the 25th anniversary of the conclusion of their collegiate athletics careers. The accolade recognizes former student-athletes who have distinguished themselves since completing their college athletics careers.

The winningest coach in the history of Division I women's hockey, Stone has amassed 402 victories over the course of her storied career and is currently serving as head coach of the USA Women's Olympic Team at the 2014 Olympic Games in Sochia, Russia. One of the most successful coaches in the history of the women's collegiate game, Stone has spent all 19 of her seasons as a head coach with the Crimson.

Within her 402-171-35 (.690) record, Stone has led the Crimson to the 1999 AWCHA national championship, three-straight appearances in the NCAA championship game (2003, 2004, 2005), nine NCAA tournament appearances in the event's 13-year history, six ECAC regular-season titles, five ECAC tournament championships, six Ivy League titles and 10 Beanpots.

Stone has coached six of the 16 winners of the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award and earned two New England Coach of the Year honors. Stone has coached 14** players who have played in the Olympic Games.

Stone graduated from New Hampshire in 1989 with a degree in physical education. She was a captain and four-year letterwinner in both hockey and lacrosse for the Wildcats. Stone helped the hockey team win ECAC championships in 1986 and 1987 and the lacrosse team capture an NCAA title in 1985. She earned All-ECAC honors in hockey and was a two-time All-America selection in lacrosse.  

Recipients of the Silver Anniversary Awards include Gail Devers (2013), Patrick McEnroe (2013), David Robinson (2012), Joe Girardi (2011), Bo Jackson (2011), Doug Flutie, (2010), Jackie Joyner-Kersee (2010), Mike Singletary (2006), Mark Johnson (2005), Bill Walton (1999), Sally Ride (1998), Jack Youngblood (1996) and Jim Ryun (1994).

The Silver Anniversary Awards are given each year by the American National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) to recognize six distinguished former student-athletes on their 25th anniversary as college graduates. The Silver Anniversary Awards were first given in 1973, when five distinguished former student-athletes were honored. In 1986, the number of annual honorees was increased to six.

In order to be eligible, the nominee must be a college graduate and a varsity letter-winner at an NCAA member institution and must have achieved personal distinction since his or her graduation. The selection criteria are weighted 40 percent to the nominee's status as a prominent collegiate athlete and 60 percent to the nominee's career achievement.