Media Center: Harvard Crimson Women's Golf - Program Awards

Women’s Golf Annual Awards
Short Game Award
Most of our competition is competent from tee to green. Since over 50% of strokes take place within 50 yards of the hole, scoring at all levels comes from the short game – getting the ball in the hole from around the green. This requires practice, strategy, imagination, touch . . . and more practice. As a first step towards improvement, we measure our results. The Short Game Award goes to the player with the most effective short game as measured by our statistical program. 

Year Name
2002 Meredith Chiampa, ‘04
2003 Kathryn Kuchefski
2004 Meredith Chiampa ’04
2005 Jeen Joo Kang ’05
2006 Jessica Hazlett ’08
2007 Emily Balmert ’09
2008 Emily Balmert ‘10
2009 Christine Cho ‘12
2010 Christine Cho ‘12
2011 None Awarded
2012 None Awarded
2013 None Awarded
2014 None Awarded

The Warren Smith Sportsmanship Award
Warren Smith started the Harvard Women’s Golf program in 1993. For most people who knew Warren, he was the nicest man they knew. A true gentleman. A good man who always had a kind and helpful thing to say. He was a father and a grandfather away from home for many Harvard students and a role model for all. In difficult times and good times; through personal adversity Warren always exhibited Sportsmanship, Dedication, Etiquette, and Kindness. Harvard Women’s Golf awards the Warren Smith Sportsmanship Award each year to the team member who best exemplifies the ideals established by Coach Smith.

Year Name
2002 Elisa Schaar, ’04
2003 Jennifer Cronan ’06
2004 Jacquie Rooney ’07
2005 Carrie Baizer ’05
2006 Caitlin Hicks ‘06
2007 Jacquie Rooney ’07
2008 Debbi Amanti ‘08
2009 Claire Sheldon ’10
2010 Sarah Harvey ‘10
2011 Chloe Altchek '13
2012 Jane Lee '12
2013 Brenna Nelsen '15
2014 Anne Cheng '17

The Biff Jeeks Harvard Golf Award
Named in honor of the legendary man, this award is given to the Harvard golfer who best exemplifies the traditions of excellence at Harvard, who best represents Harvard Golf and whose fighting spirit helps them and their teammates overachieve.

Year Name
2010 Claire Sheldon ’10
2011 Mia Kabasakalis '11
2012 Bonnie Hu '14
2013 Tiffany Lim '15
2014 Courtney Hooton '16

The Leslie E. Greis '80 MVP Award
A trailblazer for women's golf at Harvard before there was a women's team, Leslie earned a spot on the men's varsity team as a freshman in 1976. She played in men's team tournaments, including a match where she competed as Harvard's number one player against Bates and MIT, and in the few women's individual collegiate tournaments that existed at the time. She was the 1978 Women's Ivy League Champion. After graduation, she competed professionally and became Harvard's first golfer, male or female, to win the National Golf Foundation's Rolex Achievement Award. A supporter of the game on a national level, Leslie became the second-ever women to serve on the PGA of America's Board of Directors and she also served as Chair of the Board of Directors of the LPGA.  The Leslie E. Greis '80 MVP Award is given annually to the player who is the most valuable competitor for the team and who shows leadership through her respect for her teammates & for the values of the game."

Year Name
2012 Tiffany Lim '15
2013 Bonnie Hu '14
2014 Tiffany Lim '15 


Harvard Department of Athletics Senior Award Winner

Year Name Award
2002 Maureen B. Shannon ’02 Francis J. Toland Community Service Award
2010 Claire Sheldon ’10 Mary G. Paget Prize