No. 18 Radcliffe Heavyweights Race for Beanpot; Live Video Available

No. 18 Radcliffe Heavyweights Race for Beanpot; Live Video Available

Olivia Coffey (left) and Laura Huppert are seeking their third Beanpot titles as members of the varsity eight (photo courtesy David Silverman).

CAMBRIDGE, Mass.—Three different trophies and a team banner are on the line as the No. 18 Radcliffe heavyweight crew races local rivals Boston College, Boston University, MIT and Northeastern as well as visitor Columbia in the fourth annual Beanpot regatta Saturday morning on the Charles River.

Radcliffe has won each of the previous three Beanpots, but the competition in Boston is always tough, perhaps this year more than ever. Each of the three NCAA Championships-level races include four of the top 11 teams in the Eastern Association of Women’s Rowing Colleges. In the varsity eight, Columbia is ranked fifth, BU seventh, NU ninth and Radcliffe 10th.

In addition to the Beanpot, the varsities from Radcliffe and BU will be racing for the Allen-DeWolfe Trophy, while the Rowlands Cup will be on the line between the Black and White and Northeastern.

Watch From Home
Northeastern will provide free live video streaming of the varsity eight race here.

Racing Schedule
6:36 a.m. – Heavyweight Varsity Four B
7 a.m. – Heavyweight Third Varsity Eight
7:36 a.m. – Heavyweight Varsity Four A
8:12 a.m. – Heavyweight Second Varsity Eight
8:48 a.m. – Heavyweight Varsity Eight
9:12 a.m. – Lightweight Varsity Eight
9:36 a.m. – Lightweight Second Varsity/Novice Eights
10 a.m. – Lightweight Varsity Four

Radcliffe Lineups
Varsity Eight
Cox: Jill Carlson, 8: Christine Baugh, 7: Shelley Pearson, 6: Laura Huppert, 5: Olivia Coffey, 4: Rachel Knaster, 3: Jennie Peterson, 2: Liz Soutter, 1: Mary Maginnis

Second Varsity
Cox: Amanda Deutsch, 8: Molly Tarrant, 7: Jessica Flakne, 6: Meg Kehan, 5: Tara Larson, 4: Celia Kohl, 3: Jess Mealia, 2: Kirsten Van Fossen, 5: Michaela Pewarski

Varsity Four A
Cox: Rachel Rauh, 4: Ariel Delgado, 3: Katie O'Hanlon, 2: Scout Moran, 1: Eleanor Conover

Varsity Four B
Cox: Andrea Rickey, 4: Marisa D'Orsogna, 2: Laura Savarese, 2: Margot Leger, 1: Lucy Chen

Third Varsity Eight
Cox: Jos Lai, 8: Alex Kuschner, 5: Sophie Bearman, 6: Mary Jackson, 5: Rebekah Meyer, 4: Mary Miller, 3: Meg Johnson, 2: Alex Bradbury, 1: Christina McClintock

Last Time Out
The Black and White took on rival Yale, and the Bulldogs won all five races. The most thrilling race came in the second varsity, with Yale edging Radcliffe to the line by one-fifth of a second.

The Black and White, by Boat
Radcliffe’s varsity eight (1-5) is ranked 10th in the league in the EAWRC Coaches Poll, while the second varsity eight (3-3) and varsity four (3-3) both sport No. 4 rankings. The third varsity eight (2-4) ranks fifth in the league.

History Lesson
Radcliffe has won the Beanpot in each of the three previous seasons, including last year, when the Black and White crossed the finish 11.5 seconds before runner-up Northeastern. That was the closest of the varsity races, as Radcliffe also claimed the team banner for a third straight season.

The Black and White and Terriers have raced for the Allen-DeWolfe Trophy since 1998. Radcliffe has won 10 of the previous 12 races and has held the cup since 2007. After Northeastern won four of the first five races for the Rowlands Cup, beginning in 1993, the Black and White has won 11 straight.

The Course
The Charles River's 2,000-meter race course starts about 100 meters upstream from the Longfellow Bridge in the Charles River Basin and ends in front of the Hyatt Regency hotel. Popular viewing points include the shoreline in front of the Hyatt and the Harvard Bridge (Massachusetts Avenue), which sits above the course's midpoint.