Sailing Alumna Wins 2010 Rolex Osprey Cup

Former Harvard sailor, Genny Tulloch, captured the 2010 Rolex Osprey Cup (phot courtesy Glennon Stratton).

ST. PETERSBURG, Fla. – Harvard sailing alumna Genny Tulloch captured the 2010 Rolex Osprey Cup Saturday, Oct. 23. Tulloch, the Intercollegiate Sailing Association's 2004 Quantum Women's Sailor of the Year, sailed with Alice Manard Leonard, Jenn Chamberlain and 2006 Quantum Female College Sailor of the Year Alana O'Reilly.

Tulloch and crew lost only once during the round-robin stage of the regatta to ensure their participation in the semifinals. Tulloch's team advanced to the final of the regatta, defeating the team skippered by Rebecca Dellenbaugh from Easton, Conn., 3-1.

The final proved to be very exciting. Tulloch's team squared off against the defending champion, Giulia Conti skippered squad. With the score 2-1 in favor of Tulloch, Conti passed Tulloch on the last downwind, a boat length short of the finish line, focring a deciding fifth race. Tulloch was able to take the drama out of the race by opening up a nice lead early on and capturing the 2010 title.