ACWPC Recognizes Crimson Men's Water Polo with All-Academic Honors

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – The Harvard men's water polo team raked in 13 individual academic recognitions, as well as a team honor, Monday when the Association of Collegiate Water Polo Coaches announced its 2010 Men's All-Academic Awards.

Senior co-captain Bret Voith and sophomore Antone Martinho earned "Outstanding" recognition from the ACWPC, posting grade-point averages from 3.71 to 4.0. It is their second such award after earning "Outstanding" Scholar-Athlete honors from the Collegiate Water Polo Association earlier this month.

Freshmen Jimmy Field, Neal O'Hara and William Roller; juniors Kevin DiSilvestro, Mike Katzer and Alexandre Popp; and seniors Alex Thompson and Jeff Lee all garnered "Superior" recognition with GPAs between 3.41 and 3.70. Freshmen Nathan Clement and Hank Clausner, along with junior Evan Zepfel, received "Excellent" All-Academic honors with GPAs from 3.2 to 3.4.

Harvard had the third-highest team grade-point average for fall 2010 at 3.38, topping CWPA rivals George Washington, Princeton, Iona and Fordham. More than 240 athletes made this year's list with GPAs over 3.2, while 20 teams received recognition as well.