Men's Water Polo Hands Out Team Awards in End of Year Banquet

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. -- The Harvard men's water polo team celebrated its accomplishments during the 2008 season and handed out its team awards at the annual banquet held Thursday evening at the Lee Family Hall of History.

Head Coach Erik Farrar, in his fifth year at the helm of the Crimson, congratulated his players for their success during the year, thanked his two graduating seniors for their hard work and dedication throughout their four years at Harvard and honored four players with the team's awards.

Senior co-captain Jay Connolly, a two-time All-Northern Division goalkeeper, was named Harvard's Most Valuable Player, while freshman Luka Babic was tabbed the team's Rookie of the Year after having a stellar first season with the Crimson.

Junior Egen Atkinson was the recipient of the Most Improved Player award and sophomore Bret Voith, a first-team All-Northern Division player a year ago, took home the Coach's Award. 

Atkinson and Voith were also selected as Harvard's captains for the 2009 campaign.