Former Captain of Harvard Men's Tennis To Be Enshrined Into Cincinnati Tennis Hall of Fame

CINCINNATI – Former Harvard men's tennis team captain and two-time Ohio high school singles titleist John David Rauh '54, along with a college All-American in doubles and two individuals whose names are nearly synonymous with the sport of tennis in Cincinnati, have been tapped as the latest to be enshrined into the Cincinnati Tennis Hall of Fame in August.

Along with Rauh, Dan Kronauge, Bobbie Farley and Jim Farley will also be entered into the hall of fame. Rauh was nominated in the "Master Player Category" (those who played 50 or more years ago), Kronauge in the "Recent Player Category" (those who played within the past 50 years) and the Farleys were nominated in the "Contributor Category."

"This is a particularly interesting class of the Cincinnati Tennis Hall of Fame," said Bill Lofgren in a release, who is in his first year as Chairman of the Cincinnati Tennis Hall of Fame and is a Hall of Famer himself. "Kronauge was successful at every level he's played, Rauh continued the legacy of Tony Trabert at Walnut Hills High School in winning state titles, and the Farley's and their family have contributed so much to tennis in Cincinnati it's nearly impossible to calculate."

Rauh won two Ohio high school singles titles (1949 & '50) while at Walnut Hills and then went on to captain the Harvard tennis team (in '54). He paired with Jim Brockhoff to win doubles titles at the Thomas E. Price Cincinnati Metropolitan Championships in 1960, '64, & '65, and reach four other Met doubles finals. Outside of tennis, Rauh was the CEO of Clopay from 1975 to 1985, was involved in Cincinnati's Charter Party, as well as national efforts to reform political campaign financing.

The four will be inducted on Center Court on Saturday, Aug. 13, during the first weekend of the Western & Southern Open, the latest name for a Cincinnati tennis tradition that is today the oldest tournament in the nation played in its original city.

A reception/luncheon, which is open to the public, will be held in the Grandstand Tent at the Lindner Family Tennis Center in Mason to honor the four prior to the on-court enshrinement.

The enshrinement reception/brunch begins at 10:30 a.m. Aug. 13, and is open to the public. It will be held during the first weekend of the Western & Southern Open and will include brief speeches followed by an on-court enshrinement ceremony on Center Court. Individuals wishing to purchase tickets or a table of 10 for the brunch may call Carole Meldon at 513-379-7726. (A ticket to the matches also is required for entry to the tournament grounds.)

Once enshrined, individuals will be permanently memorialized at the physical home of the Cincinnati Tennis Hall of Fame, which is at the Carl & Edyth Lindner Family Tennis Pavilion, Lunken Airport Playfield.

About the Cincinnati Tennis Hall of Fame

Cincinnati is home to world-renowned players, the oldest professional tournament played in its original city, and the first city ever selected by the International Tennis Hall of Fame as its "City of the Year." The Cincinnati Tennis Hall of Fame was established in 2002 to honor the individuals who have helped forge the history, tradition and legacy of Cincinnati tennis. Bill Lofgren is the Chairman of the Cincinnati Tennis Hall of Fame, which is a part of the Greater Cincinnati Tennis Association, a 501(c)3 non-profit organization.

The Selection Committee:
Marguerita Alder
Jim Brockhoff
Steve Contardi
Kathy Graeter
Brian Nester
Phil Smith 

The Program Committee:
Bruce Flory
Dick Friedman
Brian Leshner
Carol Meldon
Karen Montavon
Phil Smith 

Immediate Past Chairman:
Jim Farley 

Past Enshrinees:
2002 – Bill Talbert & Tony Trabert
2003 – Barry MacKay, Paul Flory, Tom Price, Al Bunis, Ruth Sanders Cordes, Kathy Graeter & Nat Emerson
2004 – Bill Lofgren, J. Howard "Bumpy" Frazer, Marty Wolf & Clara Louise Zinke
2005 – Andrea Farley, Reuben Holden, Caroline Kuhlman, Jim Brockhoff & Jack Guggenheim
2006 – Henry Bunis, Steve Contardi, Winona Closterman & Carol Brestel
2007 – Heather Hairston-Propp, Joe O'Brien, Dave Power & Carol Tanner
2008 – Charles Thomas, Carl Lindner, Rich Lindner & Jeff Wolf
2009 – John Cook, Lynn Nabors-McNally, John Peckskamp, Angela Farley Wilson
2010 – Joe Leytze, Jim Meakin, Kara Molony-Hussey, Bill Pendl