Vesey Named Semifinalist For Walter Brown Award

Vesey Named Semifinalist For Walter Brown Award

Jimmy Vesey is one of nine forwards to be named a semifinalist for the Walter Brown Award (Gil Talbot).

Freshman forward Jimmy Vesey of the Harvard men’s hockey team has been named a semifinalist for the 61st Walter Brown Award, the Gridiron Club of Greater Boston announced Monday. The award is presented annually to the best United States-born college hockey player in New England.

Vesey is one of 16 players to be named a semifinalist for the prestigious award and one of seven skaters from ECAC Hockey. The slate of candidates is comprised of nine forwards, four defensemen and three goaltenders with three conferences (ECAC Hockey, Hockey East and Atlantic Hockey) represented. Nine Crimson players have combined to win the award 10 times in its history.

The North Reading, Mass., native is having a strong rookie season for Harvard. He leads the team in goals (10) and points (14) and ranks among the best in the nation in terms of goals per game and points per game among rookies. He helped the U.S. Junior National Team capture a gold medal at the IIHF World Junior Championship in January, and has been named ECAC Rookie of the Week three times this season. He also received league rookie of the month honors for November.

Dov Grumet-Morris ’05 was Harvard’s last Walter Brown Award winner in 2005. The Crimson's previous winners are Lane MacDonald ’88-89 (1989), Scott Fusco ’85-86 (1986), Mark Fusco ’83 (1983), Bob McManama ’73 (1972), Joe Cavanagh ’71 (1971), Dave Grannis ’62 (1962), Bob Cleary ’58 (1957 and 1958) and Bill Cleary ’56 (1955).

The nation’s oldest nationally recognized college hockey honor, the Walter Brown Award was established in 1953 by the members of the 1933 Massachusetts Rangers, the first American team ever to win the World Championship Tournament. Brown coached the Rangers to the title that year in Prague, Czechoslovakia.

The Gridiron Club will announce the finalists and winner of the 61st Walter Brown Award in March, following league playoffs and before the start of NCAA Tournament play. The award will be presented to the winner at the New England College Hockey Writers’ Dinner in April.

Walter Brown Award Winners

1953 Ray Picard, Northeastern

1954 Bob Babine, Boston College

1955 Bill Cleary, Harvard

1956 R.J. Cavanaugh, Northeastern

1957 Bob Cleary, Harvard

1958 Bob Cleary, Harvard

1959 Mike Karin, Middlebury

1960 Art Chisholm, Northeastern

1961 Tom Martin, Boston College

1962 Dave Grannis, Harvard

1963 Bill Hogan, Boston College

1964 Richie Green, Boston University

1965 Bob Gaudreau, Brown

1966 John Cunniff, Boston College

1967 Jerry York, Boston College

1968 Tim Sheehy, Boston College

1969 Paul Hurley, Boston College

1970 Tim Sheehy , Boston College

1971 Joe Cavanagh, Harvard

1972 Bob McManama, Harvard

1973 Tom Mellor, Boston College

1974 Ed Walsh, Boston University

1975 Ron Wilson, Providence

1976 Richie Smith, Boston College

1977 Bob Miller, New Hampshire

1978 Joe Mullen, Boston College

1979 Ralph Cox, New Hampshire

1980 Bill Army, Boston College

1981 Mark Switaj, Boston College

1982 Chuck Marshall, Northeastern

1983 Mark Fusco, Harvard

1984 Cleon Daskalakis, Boston University

1985 Tim Army, Providence

1986 Scott Fusco, Harvard; Scott Harlow, Boston College

1987 Brian Leetch, Boston College

1988 Mike McHugh, Maine

1989 Lane MacDonald, Harvard

1990 Greg Brown, Boston College

1991 Dave Emma, Boston College

1992 Rob Gaudreau, Providence

1993 Dave Sacco, Boston University

1994 Jacques Joubert, Boston University

1995 Mike Grier, Boston University

1996 Jay Pandolfo, Boston University

1997 Chris Drury, Boston University

1998 Chris Drury, Boston University

1999 Mike Mottau, Boston College; Mike Omicioli, Providence

2000 Mike Mottau, Boston College

2001 Ty Conklin, New Hampshire; Brian Gionta, Boston College

2002 Jim Fahey, Northeastern

2003 Mike Ayers, New Hampshire

2004 Steve Saviano, New Hampshire

2005 Dov Grumet-Morris, Harvard

2006 Chris Collins, Boston College

2007 John Curry, Boston University

2008 Kevin Regan, New Hampshire

2009 Matt Gilroy, Boston University

2010 Bobby Butler , New Hampshire

2011 John Muse, Boston College

2012 Brett Gensler, Bentley University