Biega, Killorn Named New England All-Stars

CAMBRIDGE, Mass.—Senior Alex Killorn and junior Danny Biega of the Harvard men’s hockey team have been named to the New England Hockey Writers Division I All-Star team, which was released Tuesday, after voting by New England coaches and media members.

The Crimson duo and the other All-New England selections will be honored at the annual New England Hockey Writers Banquet on Tuesday, April 10, 2012 at Prince Restaurant in Saugus, Mass. Biega was one of four defensemen selected, and Killorn was one of six forwards honored. 

Biega ranks second nationally among defensemen with 1.06 points per game, thanks to his 10 goals and 25 assists for 35 points, and was previously named to the ECAC Hockey All-League first team, All-Ivy League first team and ECAC Hockey All-Tournament squad. He was the runner-up for ECAC Hockey Player of the Year and was named the league’s Best Defensive Defenseman.

Biega led all defensemen with eight goals and 23 points in league play and was on the ice for just nine even-strength goals scored by Crimson league opponents. He manned the point on the Harvard power-play unit—the top-rated man-advantage group in the country—and led the league with 14 power-play points in ECAC Hockey games. He led Harvard with a +14 rating. 

Also a first-team ECAC Hockey All-League, first-team All-Ivy and ECAC Hockey All-Tournament pick, Killorn led Harvard with 23 goals and 46 points. He ranks fourth nationally with 0.68 goals per game and fifth with 1.35 points per contest. He helped lead the Crimson to the title game in the ECAC Hockey Championship by totaling a league-high 10 points on five goals and five assists in five playoff games.

A Montreal native like Biega, Killorn registered 10 goals and 14 assists in 22 league games to rank fifth in ECAC Hockey with 24 league points. He was twice named ECAC Hockey Player of the Week during the season and paced Harvard forwards with a +12 rating. Killorn led the Crimson with four game-winning goals tied for ninth nationally with nine power-play goals.

2011-12 New England Men’s Division I All-Stars
Joe Cannata, Sr. (Merrimack)
Doug Carr, So. (UMass Lowell)
Danny Biega, Jr. (Harvard)
Adam Clendending, So. (Boston University)
Brian Dumoulin, Jr. (Boston College)
Will O’Neill, Sr. (Maine)
Spencer Abbott, Sr. (Maine)
Joey Diamond, Jr. (Maine)
Brian Flynn, Sr. (Maine)
Chris Kreider, Jr. (BC)
Alex Killorn, Sr. (Harvard)
Brian O’Neill, Sr. (Yale)
2011-12 New England Hockey Awards
Clark Hodder Award – Division I Coach of the Year
Norm Bazin (UMass Lowell)
Leonard Fowle Award – Most Valuable Player
Spencer Abbott, Sr., F (Maine)
George C. Carens Award – Rookie of the Year
Scott Wilson, Fr., F (UMass Lowell)
Herb Gallagher Award – Best Forward
Spencer Abbott, Sr., F (Maine)
Bob Monahan Award – Best Defenseman
Brian Dumoulin. Jr., D (Boston College)
Paul Hines Award – Most Improved Player
Doug Carr, So., G (UMass Lowell)
Frank Jones Award – Best Defensive Forward
Chris Connolly, Sr., F (Boston University)
Joe Tomasello Award - Unsung Hero Award
Bobby Farnham , Sr., F (Brown)
Parker/York Award – Contribution to New England Hockey
John ‘Jocko’ Connolly (Boston Herald)