Saunders Named to USBWA All-District I Team

Saunders led the Crimson in scoring en route to a third straight NCAA tournament appearance (Gil Talbot).

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – Junior Wesley Saunders has been named to the United States Basketball Writers Association (USBWA) All-District I Team, association officials announced Tuesday.

Saunders has shown off his all-around game this year, ranking among the Ivy League's best in seven statistical categories. The Los Angeles, Calif., native is eighth in the conference in scoring (14.0), third in assists (3.9) and first in steals (1.7), and also ranks in the top 10 in field goal percentage (46.6), assist-to-turnover ratio (1.7), blocked shots (0.8) and minutes (33.7). He was named Ivy League Player of the Week three times, and earned MVP honors at the Great Alaska Shootout after averaging 14.3 ppg, 8.0 rpg and 4.7 apg.

Saunders has turned in five 20-point performances on the year while leading the team in scoring 10 times. He has also led the team in assists nine times and in rebounding on six occasions. His full array of skills were on display against Princeton on Jan. 31, as he paced Harvard in points (24), rebounds (9), assists (7) and steals (3) to become the first member of the Crimson to lead the team in all four categories since Jeremy Lin '10 did so on Dec. 30, 2009 against George Washington.

The junior was also named to the USBWA All-District I Team a year ago, was tabbed to the National Association of Basketball Coaches All-District 13 Team, and was a unanimous selection to the All-Ivy League first team. Prior to this season, Saunders was recognized on the Lou Henson Preseason All-America Team.

Harvard's season will continue in the NCAA tournament after capturing its fourth straight Ivy League title and earning a third consecutive trip to March Madness. The Crimson has invited all members of the Harvard community to join the team for a viewing party in the Murr Center's Hall of History this Sunday, March 16, to watch as the tournament bracket is revealed during the CBS Selection Show at 6 p.m.