loki/tinymce : /sports/fball/2013-14/releases/2013120941d0i5 : 2013120941d0i5 : 71373avv5rrohsb8



Hodges Named 2013 Ivy League Football Defensive Player of the Year

Zach Hodges is Harvard's fourth straight recipient of the Bushnell Cup (Gene Boyars).

NEW YORK -- Junior defensive end Zach Hodges of the Harvard football team was honored as the 2013 Asa S. Bushnell Cup recipient as Ivy League Defensive Player of the Year in an announcement made at the Waldorf=Astoria Hotel in New York City on Dec. 9, 2013.

Hodges is the ninth Harvard player to receive the Bushnell Cup and the fourth in as many seasons (Gino Gordon, Josue Ortiz, Colton Chapple).

Harvard's Frederick Greeley Crocker Award winner as the Crimson's Most Valuable Player, Hodges was a unanimous selection to the All-Ivy first team and was tabbed to the College Sports Madness All-America first team.

Despite only completing his junior season, Hodges already ranks fifth in school history with 18.5 sacks and is only two behind the all-time program leader (Chris Smith '98 – 20.5). A two-time All-Ivy choice, Hodges ranked fifth in the country with four forced fumbles. He also recovered three fumbles, including one for a 53-yard touchdown return at San Diego Sept. 21.

Hodges, who helped the Crimson boast the nation's seventh best rush defense (97.3 yards allowed per game on the ground), tied for the Ivy League lead with 6.5 sacks and was second with 11.5 tackles for a loss.  Hodges finished the year with 40 tackles, as he emerged as one of the better pass rushers in the nation.

Hodges and Harvard earned a share of the program's 15th Ivy League crown, finishing 6-1 in the Ancient Eight and 9-1 overall. The Crimson defeated Yale for the seventh straight season and 12th time in the last 13 years, while posting a 5-0 record on the road. Harvard also won at least seven games for the 13th consecutive season, an Ivy League record.

Harvard's Asa S. Bushnell Cup Recipients:
Jim Stoeckel, QB, 1973
Carl Morris, WR, 2000 and 2001
Ryan Fitzpatrick, QB, 2004
Chris Pizzotti, QB, 2008
Gino Gordon, RB, 2010
Josue Ortiz, DT, 2011
Colton Chapple, QB, 2012
Zach Hodges, DE, 2013