Brate Named to CFPA FCS Tight End Award Watch List

Cameron Brade made a touchdown grab in Harvard's win over Bucknell in 2012 (Gil Talbot).

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – The College Football Performance Awards, the largest awards organization in Division I college football, recently announced its watch list for the 2013 CFPA FCS Tight End Award.

Harvard rising senior tight end Cameron Brate earned a spot on the watch list, which includes 32 returning performers.

"Congratulations to Cameron Brate on earning a spot on the 2013 CFPA Watch List," said CFPA Executive Director Brad Smith. "Harvard has a tradition of excellence on the football field, and Cameron Brate will likely play a key role in the Crimson's continued success in 2013."

Brate, a two-time All-Ivy League choice, was named to the Beyond Sports Network All-America second team and was a Capital One Academic All-America first team choice last season as a junior. Brate, who hails from Naperville, Ill., caught 41 passes for 592 receiving yards in 2012. He also made six touchdown catches on the year and had seven grabs for 109 yards at Princeton.

Last season, Harvard quarterback Colton Chapple earned the 2012 CFPA Quarterback Award and 2012 CFPA National Performer of the Year Trophy, which he received at halftime of the Harvard-Yale men's basketball game. Current Baltimore Ravens player Kyle Juszczyk earned the 2011 CFPA Elite Tight End Award.

All CFPA recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams. All players are eligible for awards at their respective positions; players are not preemptively eliminated from consideration.

Currently, there are 111 CFPA recipients listed on official 2013 NFL rosters. More than 130 CFPA recipients have signed professional contracts, and twenty-one have been first-round NFL Draft selections. Past CFPA winners include: Colin Kaepernick (Nevada), Trent Richardson (Alabama), Dez Bryant (Oklahoma State), Whitney Mercilus (Illinois), Von Miller (Texas A&M), Alex Henery (Nebraska), Earl Thomas (Texas), and Patrick Peterson (LSU).

Last season, Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel earned the 2012 CFPA National Performer of the Year Trophy, while Harvard quarterback Colton Chapple earned the 2012 CFPA FCS National Performer of the Year Trophy. Multiple award presentations were broadcast live nationally on ESPN, CBS, Fox Sports, Big Ten Network, Pac 12 Network, as well as internationally on BYUtv.

The full list of 2013 recipients, including the 2013 CFPA FCS Awards, will be announced on January 8, 2014.