Harvard's Gino Gordon Named Finalist for 2010 Ivy League Football Player of the Year

Gino Gordon had two rushing touchdowns during Harvard's 28-21 win over Yale on Nov. 20, 2010 Buy Now
Gino Gordon had two rushing touchdowns during Harvard's 28-21 win over Yale on Nov. 20, 2010

Gino Gordon 2010 Photo Gallery

PRINCETON, N.J. - Dartmouth junior tailback Nick Schwieger, Harvard senior running back Gino Gordon, Penn sophomore quarterback Billy Ragone and Princeton senior wide receiver Trey Peacock were announced as the four finalists for the 2010 Asa S. Bushnell Cup, which honors the Ivy League Football Player of Year.

The 2010 recipient will be unveiled at a special reception and press conference in the Hilton Room of the famed Waldorf=Astoria Hotel at 11:30 a.m. on Monday, Dec. 6, as part of the festivities surrounding the 53rd National Football Foundation Annual Awards Dinner in New York City. George Pyne, former Brown football standout, current NFF Board Member and president of IMG Worldwide's Sports & Entertainment Group, will serve as emcee of the presentation. The winner will be joined by his head coach, Pyne, Ivy League Executive Director Robin Harris and NFF President and CEO Steve Hatchell for the announcement. Others in attendance will include representatives of the media, members of the NFF Board and notable Ivy League alumni and dignitaries.

Schwieger (Norton, Mass.) enjoyed one of the best seasons ever for a Big Green running back, accumulating 1,133 yards -- the second most in school history -- on 242 carries to lead the Ivy League in rushing for the second-straight year and rank fifth nationally at 125.9 yards per game while tying a school record with 14 rushing touchdowns. He also was second on the team with 28 receptions for 210 yards, plus tossed a 62-yard touchdown pass during the season. Six times Schwieger posted 100-yard games with a season-high of 216 at Bucknell. He was named the Ivy League Offensive Player of the Week three times and led the League in scoring at 9.3 points per game (84 total) and all-purpose yards (158.8 per game), ranking among the top 15 in the country in both statistical categories.

Gordon (Bonita, Calif.) ran for 1,059 yards this season, the seventh-highest single-season mark at Harvard, and became the first player in four years to reach the 1,000-yard mark. Gordon led the Ivy League at 6.3 yards per carry and became just the fifth player at Harvard to record 10 rushing touchdowns in a single season. For his career, he ran for 2,643 yards – the fourth-highest mark in school annals. He ran for 23 touchdowns and had 25 scores in all. Gordon will graduate as Harvard's all-time leader in yards per carry at 5.3, ahead of the Ivy League's all-time leading rusher Clifton Dawson '07. Following the season, he was chosen by his teammates to receive the Frederick Greeley Crocker Award as the program's most valuable player.

Ragone (Chesire, Conn.) led Penn to its second-straight undefeated Ivy League title. In just nine games, he ran for more than 500 yards, threw for more than 800 and scored 13 touchdowns. Ragone finished fifth in the Ivy League in rushing -- the highest finish for a Quakers quarterback in head coach Al Bagnoli's 19-year tenure. When throwing the ball, Ragone was third in the League in passing efficiency and completed 57 percent of his passes. In 123 pass attempts, he was intercepted just five times (just once every 24.6 attempts) and in 223 career dropbacks, he has been sacked just four times (just once every 55.8 dropbacks). Behind Ragone, Penn finished sixth in the nation in rushing offense and was fourth in the FCS in fewest sacks allowed. Penn also led the League in scoring offense, total offense, first downs, red zone offense and third-down conversions.

Peacock (Chandler, Ariz.) completed a brilliant senior season ranked in the top 10 nationally in both receptions per game (7.2) and receiving yards per game (95.5). He ended the season with 11 more catches and 113 more receiving yards than anybody in the Ivy League. Peacock totaled 955 receiving yards, fifth most in one season ever at Princeton. He had four games with at least 100 receiving yards, including a 196-yard receiving day at Lehigh, the eighth-best single-game total in Princeton history.

All four players were named first-team All-Ivy this season. Peacock was only one of four players receiving unanimous selection with Gordon and Schwieger earning their second-straight selections to the first team and Ragone garnering for his first All-Ivy honor.

Presented annually since 1970, the Asa S. Bushnell Cup honors its namesake, a 1921 Princeton alumnus and the commissioner of the Eastern College Athletic Conference from 1938 to 1970. The Bushnell Cup is presented by the Eastern Association of Intercollegiate Football Officials and is awarded by a vote of the Ivy League's eight head football coaches to the player who displays outstanding qualities of leadership, competitive spirit, contribution to the team, and accomplishments on the field.

Asa S. Bushnell Cup All-Time Recipient List
1970 - Jim Chasey, QB, Dartmouth & Ed Marinaro#, RB, Cornell
1971 - Ed Marinaro#, RB, Cornell
1972 - Dick Jauron*, RB, Yale
1973 - Jim Stoeckel, QB, Harvard
1974 - Walt Snickenberger, RB, Princeton
1975 - Doug Jackson, RB, Columbia
1976 - John Pagliaro, RB, Yale
1977 - John Pagliaro, RB, Yale
1978 - Buddy Teevens, QB, Dartmouth
1979 - Tim Tumpane, LB, Yale
1980 - Kevin Czinger*, MG, Yale
1981 - Rich Diana*, RB, Yale
1982 - John Witkowski, QB, Columbia
1983 - Derrick Harmon, RB, Cornell
1984 - Tim Chambers, DB, Penn
1985 - Tom Gilmore*, DT, Penn
1986 - Rich Comizio, RB, Penn
1987 - Kelly Ryan, QB, Yale
1988 - Jason Garrett, QB, Princeton
1989 - Judd Garrett, RB, Princeton
1990 - Shon Page, RB, Dartmouth
1991 - Al Rosier, RB, Dartmouth
1992 - Jay Fiedler, QB, Dartmouth
1993 - Keith Elias*, RB, Princeton
1994 - Pat Goodwillie, LB, Penn
1995 - Dave Patterson, LB, Princeton
1996 - Chad Levitt, RB, Cornell
1997 - Sean Morey, WR, Brown
1998 - Jim Finn, RB, Penn
1999 - James Perry, QB, Brown
2000 - Gavin Hoffman, QB, Penn
2001 - Carl Morris, WR, Harvard
2002 - Carl Morris, WR, Harvard
2003 - Mike Mitchell, QB, Penn
2004 - Ryan Fitzpatrick, QB, Harvard
2005 - Nick Hartigan*, RB, Brown
2006 - Jeff Terrell, QB, Princeton
2007 - Mike McLeod, RB, Yale
2008 - Chris Pizzotti, QB, Harvard
2009 - Buddy Farnham, WR, Brown & Jake Lewko, LB, Penn

# Denotes an inductee into the College Football Hall of Fame
* Denotes a recipient of an NFF National Scholar-Athlete Award